More About Lars Peter Hansen


Current Positions

David Rockefeller Distinguished Service Professor, University of Chicago, since 2010; Professor in Statistics, since 2007; on faculty since 1981

Director and Chair of Research Council, Becker Friedman Institute for Research in Economics

Previous Positions

Associate Professor, GSIA, Carnegie-Mellon University, 1980-81; Assistant Professor, 1978-80

Professional Affiliations

Co-Editor, Econometrica, since 2012;1986-90

Vice President, American Economic Association, 2011

Honors and Awards

Honorary Academician of Academia Sinica, 2014

Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Honor of the Memory of Alfred Nobel, since 2013

Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Economics, Finance and Management, BBVA Foundation, 2010

MSRI Prize in Innovative Quantitative Applications, CME Group, 2008

Fellow, American Finance Association, since 2007

Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics, Northwestern University, 2006

Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, since 1999

Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, since 1993

Fellow, Econometric Society, since 1985; President, 2007; First Vice President, 2006; Second Vice President, 2005

Frisch Medal, Econometric Society, Co-winner with Kenneth J. Singleton, 1984


Author and co-author of numerous papers on econometric methods, asset pricing and financial markets, uncertainty and risk aversion, robust control theory, and macroeconomic risk, growth and fluctuation


University of Minnesota, Ph.D., economics, 1978

Utah State University, B.S., mathematics and political science, 1974