Imagine a Borderless World

I’ve always loved John Lennon’s song Imagine.  What can I say, I’m a product of the 60s:

Imagine there’s no countries/It isn’t hard to do/Nothing to kill or die for/And no religion too/Imagine all the people/Living life in peace . . .

You may say I’m a dreamer/But I’m not the only one/I hope someday you’ll join us/And the world will be as one.

I’ve never really understood nationalism.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy living in the USA.  But because I live here, why should I be entitled to a better life than someone born poor in a developing country.  Most borders are strictly arbitrary lines on a map.  This is particularly true in areas like Africa where borders frequently divide tribes.

But is a borderless world really feasible?  Right now, obviously not.  But the rapid advances in technology, communications (including the Internet), and transportation are making the world smaller.

In a post at ieet.org, Harry J. Bentham is wildly optimistic:  “The End of Nation States May Enhance Humanity.”  For example, he argues:

Migration, resulting from the development of better means of transport and easier connections across the world, is a “disintegrating” influence on modern nation-states.  As countries stretch the definition of citizenship to accommodate increasing migrant populations, citizenship is destine to lose its function of excluding people.  With this crisis, it is destined to extinguish itself as a means of privileging people.

Giulio Prisco, commenting on Bentham’s proposal, has his own dream:

My dream is a world of small autonomous co-operating communities, with enough diversity to permit everyone to find his place and let others find their place.  I realize that my dream is very difficult to achieve, and in the meantime we must live with real politics.

Responding to Prisco, Peter Wicks asks:  “How small, and to what extent do the communities need to be geographically defined?”

Prisco answers:  “In principle a community doesn’t need to be geographically defined.”

I’ve lived in France/Belgium for 2-1/2 years and over the last few years have spent an aggregate of almost a year in Uganda.  I feel just as at home in Uganda as I do in the USA, even though I don’t look like a typical Ugandan.  Additionally, I’ve visited over 30 countries scattered over 5 continents.  The world’s citizenry has always treated me well.

I was born into a life of privilege.  My Ugandan friends were not.  I don’t understand, I can only Imagine.

This entry was posted in absurdism, Personal Essays, Religion, Social Justice, uganda, utopianism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

