“I’ll Go Where You Want Me to Go”

During the recent LDS special session for new mission presidents, missionaries in the MTC, and other interested parties, the hymn “I’ll go where you want me to go” was sung by a missionary choir.  It was very stirring and a magical moment.

As a person who wonders and wanders, this hymn has special meaning for me.  For whatever reason, I enjoy traveling (it’s almost an obsession).  But I’ve found that playing tourist is not always the most rewarding way to see the world.  I’ve come to enjoy doing community projects that allow for interaction with the locals, hopefully to their and my benefit.

It may not be on the mountain’s height, or over the stormy sea;/It may not be at the battle’s front my Lord will have need of me;/But if by a still, small voice He calls to paths I do not know,/I’ll answer, dear Lord, with my hand in Yours,/I’ll go where You want me to go.

I’m not vain enough to think that the projects I work on are in anyway God inspired, but I do feel a sense of urgency that may come from some greater power.  If not, I guess it’s just my craziness.

I’m not a great believer in organized religion, and the session where the hymn was sung was a major disappointment.  But I did enjoy the choir’s stirring rendition of the hymn.  Most Mormon music is quite frankly bland and uninspiring.  But “I’ll go where you want me to go” is very inspiring for me.

There’s surely somewhere a lowly place in earth’s harvest fields so wide,/Where I may labor through life’s short day for Jesus, the Crucified.

If not “for Jesus,” maybe at least for myself.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, mormonism, Religion, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I’ll Go Where You Want Me to Go”

  1. Susan says:

    Roger, occasionally you surprise me. This post shows your soul and the tenderness that you have for others. Your projects are an inspiration to all of us.

  2. rogerdhansen says:

    I don’t think you should read too much into this blog entry. There are many possible explanations for my need to travel: desire to escape Utah County, guilt over the easiness of my middle-class American life, wander lust, an obsessive personality disorder, etc. But I do find it fun to interact with people around the world.

    However, I don’t find it easy to talk to people. I’m uncomfortable in groups. So actually doing something on foreign soil is the easiest way for me to travel. The road of least resistance. (Sorry for the pun.)

  3. Pingback: Sunday in Outer Blogness: Happy Gay Day Edition!! » Main Street Plaza

Leave a Reply

