Brain Cripplers in Sub-Saharan Africa

There is an excellent article about mental health issues in Africa at www.ieet.org.  The article, by Hank Pellissier, is titled:  “Six Brain-Damage Scourges that Cripple IQ in Sub-Saharan Africa.”  It is a must read for people with an interest in social justice and sub-Saharan Africa.

Do they really have a chance?

I live part-time in Uganda (my vacation time) working with 3 separate humanitarian groups:  Engineers Without Borders, SeeeMe Foundation, and Interethnic Health Alliance.  Pellissier accurately illuminates a subject that is critically important.

This entry was posted in Social Justice, uganda. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brain Cripplers in Sub-Saharan Africa

  1. Bryant says:

    This is an interesting and eye-opening article. Thanks for sharing it, Roger.

  2. thanks for posting this, Roger

    • rogerdhansen says:

      Hi Hank,

      My father was a biochemist with a strong professional interest in nutrition. He participated in extended nutritional surveys in several countries, including Turkey, Ecuador, Thailand and Burma. As a result of these surveys, he was always very sensative to the nutritional needs of children, the need to have a healthy diet in the early years of life. Reading your article reminded me of my father’s passion.

      Also, I spend as much time as I can in Africa (I still have a full-time job, so I’m somewhat limited) and I’ve seen first hand some of the continent’s problems. But I’ve come to love interacting with its people, particularly the children. I thank you for your article.

      Roger

Leave a Reply

