Here’s to the Modern American Family

Last week, I went to visit my son and his family in Manassas VA; my grandson was being ordained a Deacon in the Aaron Priesthood (think of it as a Mormon Bar Mitzvah) and I wanted to be there. 

After the ordination, we were invited over to my ex-sister-in-law’s house (my brother’s first wife) for dinner, a birthday party, and an early Christmas party.  At the dinner party were my ex-sister-in-law, my niece and her campanion (who are gay), another niece (bachelorette and daughter from my brother’s second marriage) and her lawyer friend (who appears to have MS), my daughter-in-law’s outspoken brother (a bachelor visiting from Idaho), my son and his family (wife and five children) and myself.

My ex-sister-in-law, who has never remarried, has a beautiful home in a wooded area near Arlington VA.  She only has one daughter (who is gay) and will, in all probabilty, have no grandchildren, so she enjoys hanging out with the members of the Hansen clan who live in the Washington DC area.  Which is great.  Since my wife and I live in UT, it is good to know that my children and grandchildren have support anchors in the DC area.

My son and his family are all very religious, very Mormon.  My ex-sister-in-law was converted to Mormonism as a teenager and briefly attended BYU.  I doubt she is still a member.  My two nieces are probably not Mormon.  The one niece, who is gay, has bad feelings about the LDS Church’s support of Prop 8.  Yet there we were, all having a wonderful time, enjoying each other’s company at Christmas time.

Trying to define a “traditional” family is silly.  My niece and her companion are not a threat to my family or any other family.  They are a loving couple.  At the party were 4 adult singles who all seemed comfortable with their marital status.  They all enjoyed spoiling my grandchildren.  Fun was had my all.

Merry Christmas everyone.

This entry was posted in mormonism, my family, Personalities, Religion, Social Justice. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here’s to the Modern American Family

  1. dieta says:

    Adoption: The rule here is simple: Unless you’re a member of a European ruling house, someone who’s adopted is every bit as much a relative as someone who was born into the family. Whether your sister adopts a little girl or gives birth to one, that little girl is your niece. Whether or not little Jennifer knows she was adopted, you are her Aunt Helen and she is your niece. You wouldn’t refer to her as your adoptive niece, implying she’s not your “real” niece.

Leave a Reply

