Mormons and Post-mortality

I’m getting increasingly concerned that the LDS Church is backing off its belief in eternal progression and the ultimate endgame of post-mortal existence.  The following critique of The Book of Mormon musical by Hal Boyd is a case in point (it appeared on the Deseret News website on June 12, 2011):

In another song titled “I Believe,” the character Elder Price repeatedly sings the refrain “I am a Mormon and a Mormon just believes.” The refrain is interspersed with lines like “(God’s) plan involves me getting my own planet.” This statement, like many in the song, represents an out-of-context fragment of doctrine that, on its own, is inaccurate.

While this may seem like a minor point, for me, this statement is a continuation of the LDS Church’s over-reaction to the Evangelical’s video The Godmakers.

Why do we continue to let others determine our agenda?  Joseph Smith’s, Brigham Young’s, and John A. Widstoe’s beliefs about the hereafter are unique and should be prized.  And not chucked overboard because we want to curry favor with Christian fundamentalists.

Much of Mormon doctrine was co-opted by the Joseph-Fielding-Smith wing of the Church.  While attempts to lessen their hold on doctrine have been initiated, the purging is occurring at a snail’s pace.

The concept of man-becoming-god (or being creators) is not something that the LDS Church should be embarassed about.  When you look at the idea of eternity, does anything else make sense?  I really don’t want to spend forever singing full time in the Tabernacle Choir.

The title of Boyd’s article is:  “Is TBofM accurate satire?”  “Accurate satire?”  Isn’t that an oxymoron?  Does Boyd believe in Lilliputians?

This entry was posted in mormonism, transhumanism. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mormons and Post-mortality

  1. Christian fundamentalism has had corrosive effects on some of the most beautiful doctrines of Mormonism.

  2. shematwater says:

    I understand what Elder Price said, and i would actually agree with it. Now, I don’t think it was necessary, but I do think he was accurate. Personally, I just ignore the new play as from everything I read or seen concerning it give it about that much appeal for me.

    • rogerdhansen says:

      TBofM musical is not for everybody. Being a cultural Mormon, a return missionary, and a traveler to Uganda on several occasions, the musical has particular interest to me. But it definitely has it profance moments, and is not for everybody. But it is surprisingly sweet and an audience pleaser (and not just because it satirizes Mormonism).

      In the musical, the Elder Price song is pretty much a throw away line, which is larger lost in the overall production.

      What I object to in my post is the LDS Church’s apparent shelving of some progressive doctrine related to the Hereafter. This causes me a great deal of grief.

      • shematwater says:

        I am sorry. In my previous post I said Elder Price, but I meant Hal Boyd, the one making the comment on the doctrinal accuracy of the sorry. Sorry for the confusion.

        With that clarification, my point was that I believe Hal Boyd was correct in saying that the play does not accurately portray the doctrines of the church, though I think there was no real need to say such.

  3. roger says:

    Why do you think that Hal Boyd is correct? “As man is, God once was; as God is, man may become.” That doesn’t translate to “getting your own planet?” It’s an obvious oversimplification, but certainly nothing to comment on unless the LDS Church has changed its eternal progression doctrine. Which is my point.

    • shematwater says:

      No, it doesn’t translate into getting your own planet, but neither does it change the eternal progression.

      I do not believe we will be “getting our own planet,” but will be a counsel of gods, as is described in Abraham and by Joseph Smith, working together for the progression and exaltation of our children. I do believe that the concept of “getting our own planet” is wrong, and thus Hal Boyd was correct in his statement concerning what the song says.

  4. Ian says:

    My favorite song in that musical is “Hasa Diga Eebowai,” but that’s just my opinion…

Leave a Reply

