Losing Our Privacy

I recently wrote a blog piece for the Institute for Ethics and Emerging Technologies on their website (http://ieet.org) dealing with the loss of personal privacy.  It can be read and commented on at:  http://ieet.org/index.php/IEET/more/hansen20110413.

If you are so inclined, you can also comment by way of this blog.

This entry was posted in Technology, transhumanism. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Losing Our Privacy

  1. roger hansen says:

    According to Bret (email on 13 Apr 2011):

    I went to the cellular industry’s big trade show, CTIA, in San Francisco last fall. Outside was a group of protesters with all kinds of beefs with smart meters–privacy, EM radiation, etc.

  2. Velska says:

    Personally, I have two identities: this one, that everyone knows and that gives a fairly accurate picture of me, if you follow me all teh way to all the sites I leave my IP and browser fingerprint; then I have another one, that I never use from my own IP, that I use with a browser that leaves a fake fingerprint. Also an email that I only connect through a darknet.

    A suggestion for anyone interested: Try http://panopticlick.eff.org/ to see how unique your browser “fingerprint” is. You’ll be surprised how far it identifies you even if you manage to spoof your IP (which is not that difficult).

    For workplace use, I can only wish luck and give a word of caution: even seemingly innocent discussions online or on a phone may land you in the slammer as a “terrorist suspect” (i.e. without any rights whatsoever).

    It’s interesting how the U.S. that fought totalitarianism in the front lines for almost 70 years now has about the most totalitarian government of any that is organized in any legal framework.

Leave a Reply

