John Henri Moser, Utah Impressionist/Fauvist

My grandfather, Dr. George LeRoy Rees, collected paintings by Utah artists.  One of his favorites was a fellow resident of Cache County, Loganite John Henri Moser (or as he signed his work . . . Henri Moser).  Grandfather purchased (or was given) at least two oils and two pastels.  One of the oils is now displayed in my mother’s home and the other belongs to my aunt.  I inherited the two pastels; I suspect they are studies for subsequent oil paintings.  Both pastels are very colorful.  One hangs proudly in my home, and the second soon will.

Henri Moser Pastel

Henri Moser Pastel

The Springville Museum of Art has five works by Henri Moser.  On a recent visit, I noticed that a Moser landscape was prominently displayed in one of the museum’s main galleries.

DSCN4192

In Switzerland, the Moser family joined the LDS Church, and in 1888 immigrated to Utah.  Henri was 12 at the time.  The family settled in Payson, and their son eventually enrolled at Utah State Agriculture College (USAC) in Logan.  While his initially major was  engineering, he soon gravitated to fine art.

In 1908, using a loan from USAC president John A. Widtsoe, Moser traveled to Paris where he was exposed to a variety of artistic styles, including fauvism (named for the french word fauve which means “wild beast”).  Fauvism was a short-lived movement that emphasized the use of brilliant color, sometimes applied straight from the tube.  Fauvist works were frequently characterized as “explosions on canvas.”

During his stay in Paris, Moser became acquainted with Pablo Picasso.  Henri later said of Pablo:  “I know him well, he painted beautiful things then.  Today he paints to advertise himself and laughs at the credulous public.  He has wonderful talent and ability.”

Returning to Utah in 1911, Henri developed his own unique style, a combination of impressionism and fauvism.  A style, because of its bold use of color, that was somewhat shocking when compared to the subdued colors used by fellow Utah artists.

Henri Moser's "Bear Lake - Garden City"

Henri Moser’s “Bear Lake – Garden City”

Moser eventually settled in Logan, near the college/university, and was a prolific artist.  One of his more interesting projects was a mural he painted twice for the Logan 9th Ward (where he attended church).  The first iteration of the 5′ x 14′ work memorialized the epic Mormon trek across the plains to Utah.  Included in the mural was a prominent image of a Native American guide clothed only in a loin cloth.  Eventually, the original mural was redone by Moser; the new version had landscapes of three sites important to Mormon history.

The reason for the “new” mural is a cause for some historical controversy.  Officially, it was decided that the original large painting was too much of a distraction, as it was located in the lobby of the Ward house.  But privately, Moser was told that it was because of the scantily clad Native American guide.

Henri Moser's original Logan 9th Ward Mural

Henri Moser’s original Logan 9th Ward Mural

The artistic work of Henri Moser, who died in 1954, is a Utah treasure.  The spectacular color in his landscapes is graphically displayed on a website sponsored by the law firm of Callister, Nebeker, & McCullough.  The CNM website refers to Moser as Utah’s “wild beast”; I assume that’s of term of endearment.

Henri Moser's "Beaver Mountain"

Henri Moser’s “Beaver Mountain”

This entry was posted in Art, mormonism, Personalities, utah, widtsoe. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to John Henri Moser, Utah Impressionist/Fauvist

  1. Moser Admirer says:

    TRW,
    Thanks for putting in a plug for Henri. I agree that he is indeed, a Utah Treasure, and one who has been under-appreciated.

  2. Nancy Moser Yrigoyen says:

    Henri was my grandfather. My dad was Truman Moser, Henri’s second son. We didn’t know him well but I believe, while visiting my family in Susanville Ca. he did paint a picture or two. I am lucky to have a few of his paintings which are not and will not be for sale. They are a part of my life and so precious to me and my family.

    • rogerdhansen says:

      Hi Nancy, When you have time, would you email me photographs of the Henri Moser paintings that you have (as well as any background information that you might have)? I would enjoy seeing them, and posting them on my blog. Roger (or TRW): rhansen@usbr.gov

  3. Daniel Lorin Farr says:

    Henri was my great-great grandfather. I come from Louise Moser, Henri’s fourth child. Our family possesses a great number of Henri’s paintings that we love too much to sell. I have one of the Golden Gate Bridge during construction before there was a roadway or cables! I also have a couple poems of his.

    • rogerdhansen says:

      Hi Daniel, if you get a chance, would you please send me a photograph of a couple of your Moser paintings. I’m particularly interested in the one of Golden Gate Bridge (I’m a planner/civil engineer). I would also be interested in reading his poems. Roger

  4. Moser admirer says:

    That is a great pastel. Thanks for posting it.

Leave a Reply

